HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: BuzzFeedVideo

Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

127437 ratings | 4112214 views
What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are. Credits: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415 Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu! https://youtube.com/thepsychshow Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo! https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1 https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet GET MORE BUZZFEED: https://www.buzzfeed.com https://www.buzzfeed.com/videos https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo https://www.youtube.com/asis https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedblue https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedviolet https://www.youtube.com/perolike https://www.youtube.com/ladylike BuzzFeedVideo BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily! To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo http://bit.ly/2JRRkKU Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: https://goo.gl/gQKF8m
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (6387)
Josh Baldridge (3 hours ago)
It's unfortunate that antisocial personality disorder (as I was diagnosed with in high school) as well as most other common mental illnesses are constantly portrayed as a prop or setpiece in the life of those affected. It's typically portrayed in media as a stereotypical "heros story" sort of Arc, or a villians story aimed solely at relating an audience to the absolute worst and most extreme cases of said conditions. It creates a stigma around it, even when symptoms are barely noticeable to those outside of practice, people tend to take the worst qualities and generalizations and judge you for them even when you don't express said qualities most of the time, if at all. The label is all it takes. I refrain from mentioning it in social interactions because the last thing someone wants to hear at a party is "sorry that I'm not quite as in tune to people as I should be due to a very narrow and often ignorant mindset I possess, caused by something I have little control over, that I struggle to improve on constantly, which is why I'm even bothering to have the interactions in the first place. By the way I'm technically a sociopath, but I'm trying to improve though." Not exactly something you'd be willing to share right?
Sakina Fletcher (8 hours ago)
Omg the ending I hope he got his hug
Charlotte Kwong (8 hours ago)
I love these kinds of videos! The lawyer was one of my favorite
Ian Butler (11 hours ago)
rainman is based on a real person....
Lukson (1 day ago)
Mental illness is temporary disability of human intelligence, or even permanetly.
raks (1 day ago)
You guys should've put typhoid Mary from iron fist up there
Nasrullah wani (2 days ago)
the doctor is a kashmiri i think
Eduardo S (2 days ago)
Can a sociopath also be a psychopath?
Makenzie White (3 days ago)
Camera work was shoddy, not gonna lie...
Who Knows (3 days ago)
My favorite part of this whole thing was how he actually properly used the word "Trigger".
leayks idk (3 days ago)
Was i the only one who kept reading the titel as "real sociopath"
Emmi & Elyssa (4 days ago)
Where’s Shane Dawson?!
A blind man reviews bird box
DeadbeatBadger (5 days ago)
For Split, it should've been the scene where he transitions from Barry to Dennis
Tiffany Fichtenbaum (5 days ago)
In rainman they actually based his character on an actual man who was autistic with savant tendencies. So they got the manurisims right
Nolan Friedline (5 days ago)
Uptalk. So... much... uptalk!!!
blueline (5 days ago)
Gone Girl to me was a modern take on Psycho.
Sudev S. Nair (5 days ago)
Memento?
Han (6 days ago)
I'd love to see a psychologist watch "Girl, Interrupted"
Lars Frisk (7 days ago)
He should respond to Shane Dawson's jake paul series.
thebunofdoom 190 (7 days ago)
SEE SHANE!
Khanamirie Valizadeh (7 days ago)
why isn't THE DARK KNIGHT SCENE HERE
Zev (7 days ago)
Such a great video! I personally aspire to study psychology in the future. I have some questions about Sociopaths in form of "myths". I would love you tell me if they're right or wrong. 1. They’re nervous and easily agitated 2. They have no impulse control 3. They don’t learn from their mistakes 4. They don’t plan things 5. They’re unreliable 6. They tell lies 7. They’re manipulative 8. They don’t understand emotions 9. They have difficulty forming attachments 10. Their personality may well be from environmental factors
Frieza Frieza (8 days ago)
What About The Shinning
Alan Garner (8 days ago)
Is psychosis similar to schizophrenia?....... im wondering because im diagnosed with psychosis, im also diagnosed with ASPD.
naw28878787 (8 days ago)
That was great. BuzzFeed Can you please bring back Dr Ali Mattu or another clinical psychologist and get him to review videos of the President of the USA. Now that, ladies and gentlemen should be fun.
pan icon (9 days ago)
Shane Dawson who
Shadow Clan (9 days ago)
I’d love to see him, or another specialist, react to the new series ‘You’ on Netflix and see what he thinks
Kuiyonna Thompson (9 days ago)
Split kinda pisses me off as someone with D.I.D.
T May P (9 days ago)
I am surprised how he doesn't talk like Appu
smartPuff 73 (11 days ago)
Thank you for saying sociopaths and psychopaths are different. Thank you.
Blighted Ashes (11 days ago)
no sensui???
Defod Vaan Ddjit (11 days ago)
Dang, missed the opportunity to analyze Joker there
so judjing by these reactions, people know about mental illnesses more than they do about the physics of the world that we're living in. Which probably means, that people are/were more interested in mental illnesses than in physics, which, in turn, means that the majority of people understands mental illnesses better than physics. Is it just me imagining, or are we living in a world of mentally ill people?
AK- Metal (11 days ago)
Split!!! I’m glad you review that movie. Superb acting skills!
Jelly Zombies (12 days ago)
No girl interrupted ??
unknown (12 days ago)
shane entered the chat
Geoff Roach (12 days ago)
The issue with split, mpd is a very hard disorder to determine if it's actually real or not. If it does exist, it's less than 0.01% of the entire human population, which is another problem with this supposed illness.
Joyful Sorrow (13 days ago)
I have to say, that was a very interesting video.
CherryGryffon (15 days ago)
My stepson is autistic, and my brother is on the spectrum formerly called an Aspie; We're all very fond of Rainman, every time I see it it makes me homesick.
Crimson Prose (15 days ago)
- People mistaking DiD for schizophrenia really annoys me. - That scene where you're talking about confusion seems really spot on for how the paranoia part feels. - You're right that the realization that it's not real doesn't equate to not having an issue. Knowing my paranoia was about something 'not real' didn't change my body's reaction to it and it was still debilitating sometimes. It's a strange experience to be terrified of something you know isn't real.
Alice Willoughby (16 days ago)
"If my dog is not reacting to something then I know it's my illness." I like that! More and more I'm learning to love the idea of service dogs!
Anarchy Squad (16 days ago)
I got a tik tok ad
McPuffs (16 days ago)
So anyone that is anti-social is either a psychopath or sociopath? Avoid going to this doctor.
Martinez안드레아 (16 days ago)
9:52 why dose he sound like Ned from the try guys 😂
NJP695 (16 days ago)
He’s so right about the Schizophrenia bit; when I first got my cat I named him Horatio, Prince Hamlet’s close friend and the one who distinguished the ghost of King Hamlet to be, well, a ghost. He helps me when I hear things tremendously, as whenever there’s something REAL to react to, I can watch his eyes perk up, or even look in the direction of the noise. Good kitty. Best friend.
Noctis (17 days ago)
So the video the dark side of the jake paul is wrong?
laura martinez (17 days ago)
I love how he said ppl with mental illness are often the victim of violence bc in psychopaths there’s a lack of activity in the orbital cortex and a the aggressive MAOA gene or the warrior gene and that basically determines wether or not ur gonna be a murder which is extremely vague and there’s definitely other factors but the main reason is basically if ur abused as a child that gene is basically triggered and ur ethics/morals are controlled by impulsivity but if ur loved and raised right as a child u understand ethics and morals and it won’t be controlled by ur impulsivity so someone could score really high on psychopathic tendencies but not be a murderer. everyone has psychopathic tendencies but they aren’t harmful in any way. So basically ppl who are hurt will hurt others.
_Ali_ (17 days ago)
Finally, a video which actually has pretty much the correct subtitles AND with punctuation. Thanks so much! :)
Ana Wieder (17 days ago)
I’d like him to review tv shows, particularly Crazy Ex Girlfriend, Untypical and Empire.
El Mundo de Hades (17 days ago)
Rainman is a GREAT movie!!
Katinka Ridde-Coffey (17 days ago)
I have been told that a high percentage of surgeons are psychopaths . Is that true?
The Crimson fucker (12 days ago)
Katinka Ridde-Coffey No. They’re sociopaths. They kind of have to be.
Hilary Benoit (18 days ago)
A beautiful mind is Paranoid Schizophrenia..played by Russell Crowe.
DH_Artist (18 days ago)
What about “What’s Eating Gilbert Grape”, “Forrest Gump”, or “The Good Doctor”????
Jummbie (18 days ago)
damn, just gonna take wired's idea
Shalone Alexander (19 days ago)
Did anyone identify all the movies because now I’m curious to watch them 😭
Joshua Hale (19 days ago)
Split was a horrible example. I’m glad he knew what the idea Shyamalan was having was. But Split was a super villain origin story.
Aubrie Visor (19 days ago)
You should do an episode where a barista/bartender reviews movie drink orders
jamellah (19 days ago)
thought the title said “psychopath”
jlo803 (20 days ago)
A "Real" psychologist unlike those fake psychologists out there...
AlchemistOfNirnroot (20 days ago)
Sherlock's a drug user, but he's not impulsive?
Split kind of sucked
Abu Faqih (21 days ago)
No Forrest Gump? Really?
Alyssa Jusuf (21 days ago)
Thanks 😀😀 i watched this video before my quiz tommorow.
Hope Zaragoza (22 days ago)
ATTENTION: Production
Hope Zaragoza (22 days ago)
BuzzFeedVideo, i would like to inform you that THIS CONCEPT OF THE VIDEO is an original work. The Copyright and Patent Location, is the Superior Courthouses. Judges and Attorneys. Please delete this Video because it does not have legal approval. Thank You..
How is that baby alive
Adam Yun (22 days ago)
I'm worried about my mental health now
GGG (23 days ago)
Y does watching this give me anxiety
Maddie O'Dwyer (23 days ago)
Would love you to do Angelina Jolie as Lisa in Girl Interrupted
Winona Depp (24 days ago)
Dr. Ali, is it possible for someone to become a psychologist while showing disorders? Thank you for your response.
Bleach Martini (25 days ago)
I'm not much of a buzzfeed fan, but Dr. Ali is the man!
CRocketSlim (25 days ago)
I've always enjoyed Iron Man 3 despite its issues, just because of RDJ's performance. Dude is a fantastic actor and deserves all the success he's had since he cleaned himself up.
K52 Biethel (25 days ago)
Best video buzzfeed ever released
Sage Chan (25 days ago)
FINALLY someone agrees that Iron Man 3 is not only great but great because of it addressing Mental Health.
Paint Smudge (26 days ago)
He looks like Derrick Gerard
stewiegriffin3000 (26 days ago)
Talking about the bipolar. “It wouldn’t happen that quickly” boy you ain’t met me when I have a manic episode it happens THAT quickly or it will skip straight to that for me. Doesn’t happen often for me I keep it under control most of the time maybe once a month I’ll have a huge outburst.
dont mind (26 days ago)
I think my Manager is either a psychopath or sociopath. he's cold, calculated, manipulative and unemotional. I've just resigned because I don't want to be a part of that anymore.
CraZe (26 days ago)
i wanna see this guy review serial killers like dexter or in the show criminal minds
Tzach Gefen (26 days ago)
I'm trying not to be mean. That upward inflection at the end of every sentence makes you sound super monotonous. And the bad part of it, is that you seem to know what you're talking about. Plus, you have great timbre. So, just think about that friend. Great video. Always been fascinated with mental illness. Grew up with mild OCD and a bit of ADHD. In Lebanon 2006, I feel like I came back with some mild form of PTSD.... Much love to all. be well
Silver Xiclus (27 days ago)
It's kinda weird when most people talk with a curious kind of tone, like if they are making a question in every sentence they speak.
Wolfy (27 days ago)
I just saw Benedict Cumberbitch and boom. Here I am.
Brandon (27 days ago)
its not a movie, but Shameless has a pretty incredible representation of bipolar disorder
Walter Calle (27 days ago)
visual hallucination it´s never gonna be in schizophrenia, it´s cause by organic like a tumor or drugs
Azraelle (27 days ago)
One thing I really wish movies and TV shows would stop misrepresenting is Tourrette's Syndrome. It's not just about uncontrollable swearing.
Jacky Banuelos (28 days ago)
His reactions haha
Seth (28 days ago)
The only thing I have to say is that you called them “personalities”! They are actually called “alters”. :-)
sh hazirah (29 days ago)
I want him to watch bodyguard
Jack Knight (29 days ago)
Thank you for saying Sherlock seems autistic. That was something discussed as a possibility in 221B Con's 2018 Pannel "Queering Sherlock". And I've been saying he's autistic for years. (Specifically BBC Sherlock)
Cyrex (29 days ago)
Where is Saga Noren?
azsli2 (29 days ago)
My son has multiple personalities but he is NOT scito
jillhbaudhaan (30 days ago)
This guy should turn this into a YouTube series
NicLinker619 (30 days ago)
4:30 I thought the background music was the angry birds theme lol
Books And beauty (30 days ago)
Did anyone else have a panic attack while watching the iron man 3 part? ...no...okay
Silvia Mejia (6 days ago)
I get uneasy and want to avoid the movie
charma du plessis (18 days ago)
+Books And beauty thanks, still have anciety but I was in therapy so it's going good
Books And beauty (18 days ago)
charma du plessis congratulations on two years!!
charma du plessis (20 days ago)
I emphasized but I didn't have an attack. Haven't had one that bad in over 2 years.
Tina Schneider (30 days ago)
the cool girl monologue is the best one in movie history
Spektrom (1 month ago)
Wait this dude is literally Jeff Kaplan, but darker skin.
fravels (1 month ago)
Idk why but he reminds me of mark ruffalo as bruce hahaha
Popskiptea (1 month ago)
Gone Girl - read it before you watch it - the book is waaaaaay better!
Ruben Gregg (1 month ago)
A beautiful mind is based on the mathematician John Nash and he in fact did “out think” his Schizophrenia. He claimed that he could still hear the voices but that he chose to stop listening. Of course this is not the case for the vast majority of patients so it would be unrealistic to say that it is possible for all patients to out think schizophrenia.
Emma (1 month ago)
T R I g g e r ed

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.