HomeЛюди и блогиRelated VideosMore From: BuzzFeedVideo

Real Psychologist Reviews Mental Illness In Movies

103312 ratings | 3123077 views
What does a real psychologist think of how mental illness is portrayed in movies? Dr. Ali Mattu, clinical psychologist at the Columbia University Medical Center, takes a look at how mental illness is depicted in pop culture and tells us how accurate they really are. Credits: https://www.buzzfeed.com/bfmp/videos/68415 Special thanks to Dr. Ali Mattu! https://youtube.com/thepsychshow Check out more awesome videos at BuzzFeedVideo! https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedvideo https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedblue1 https://bit.ly/YTbuzzfeedviolet GET MORE BUZZFEED: https://www.buzzfeed.com https://www.buzzfeed.com/videos https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedvideo https://www.youtube.com/asis https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedblue https://www.youtube.com/buzzfeedviolet https://www.youtube.com/perolike https://www.youtube.com/ladylike BuzzFeedVideo BuzzFeed’s flagship channel. Sometimes funny, sometimes serious, always shareable. New videos posted daily! To see behind-the-scenes & more, follow us on Instagram @buzzfeedvideo http://bit.ly/2JRRkKU Love BuzzFeed? Get the merch! BUY NOW: https://goo.gl/gQKF8m
Html code for embedding videos on your blog
Text Comments (5213)
Leanna Martin (1 hour ago)
i'm bipolar and i can say i definitely cycle very quickly like bradley cooper does
Valentina Pierce (2 hours ago)
I feel like he wasn't getting enough information to make a legit diagnosis. I think he gave a "rough idea" of a diagnosis.
Kahn (9 hours ago)
Bruh meme killed by buzzfeed
Lantern Skyy (10 hours ago)
As someone with DID I have to say Split really hurt everyone our community. It was a harmful representation that took a serious trauma related condition and warped it into a evil monster full of violence. Shyamalan claimed to have done his research and mentioned he would depict it correctly. In the end all he did was vilify people with Dissociative Identity Disorder. It just really sucks that something caused by repetitive trauma can be turned into a murder or villain plot. I do like how you said that people of mental illness are much more likely to be victims of violence rather than cause the violence because that's very true.
Heyitsbeef (11 hours ago)
Aww I thought he was gonna do what’s eating Gilbert grape
Mars Parker (12 hours ago)
After watching this I realized my friend is a psychopath... 😐
Crystal Littles (18 hours ago)
I would love to see something like this, but with more of a history of how mental illness is portrayed in film, and if we've made any progress with the depictions over the years. Good stuff!
Wild Gwrl (18 hours ago)
what about elliot from Mr.robot tv show?
_MONOCHROME 0413 (23 hours ago)
I have Bipolar, and anxiety. Depression a year ago. But, hey, Iron Man 3 and Sherlock Holmesare great
VICE (1 day ago)
“Iron man 3 is my favourite because it’s such a huge representation of anxiety” smh 😂😂
Xerato2 (1 day ago)
So if a teenager feels bad and doesn't want to be social that makes him a sociopath or psychopath...? Wow.. Heart to heart communication, that's the key to heal and have an actual understanding of humans includong yourself- And getting to know yourself is pivital in understand the other, also understand your own emotions.... No love=no healing.
Superr Jimmy (1 day ago)
i need a million more videos EXACTLY like this
Unicorn Normy (1 day ago)
Robert Downey jr is such an amazing actor !!!!!!
aleshya darling (1 day ago)
Dude...I was not ready for that scene from "A Beautiful Mind" I've never seen that movie and that just scarred me a little.
Breadbin Urie (1 day ago)
I love how the title says he looking at clips from movies and the thumbnail is him looking at a clip from a tv show
anus (1 day ago)
*breathes* sociopath
Jonathan Level (1 day ago)
Always loved this type of thing
Captain unigriff (1 day ago)
I will admit I do have D.I.D and the personalitys talking to one another is a thing :) but also some may not be able so for enstence I have 3 that cant talk but they can view in a way. sorry long post >_<
Doodle Howlter (1 day ago)
what about elliot from mr. robot?
xee na (1 day ago)
Now i think i have all these illness :)
"I really like Iron Man 3" "Huh?" "Because it has a good representation of anxiety" "Huh?"
zrapboy7 (1 day ago)
No Mr. Robot?
SassySociopath (1 day ago)
9:14 he knows
Arrianna Sanguine (1 day ago)
Ahh I’m DID undiagnosed, but we can talk like a group phone call. I know a lot of other systems like that too.... another part of that is I usually have to call one of them to talk to me or switch. Like calling someone across the house. Sometimes they pop in on their own, but generally respect me being the main host. Mavis the youngest pops in on accident sometimes. Dru pops in when I’m in pain... my husband has an alter that one of mine has a bond with and they like being out when the other is. (Fancy themes soul mates).
Jonathon ONeill (1 day ago)
I want to see you evaluate te movie Karla
CardiUno (1 day ago)
*Takes shot every time he says representation*
Who's King Now (1 day ago)
"a sociopath.... I just got the CHILLLLLLLLS"
Matthew Silver (1 day ago)
Starks trauma And fears haven’t resolved at all and it’s why he made Ultron, its one of his reasons he signed the Accords, it’s why he chose to jump ship to Titan to face Thanos in a “one-way trip”, and it’s how we will see him in the next Avengers.
Ren rainicorn (2 days ago)
I'm an easy person I see Sherlock I click
Lillian Adorjan (2 days ago)
As an autistic person I really hate rain man
A Man With the Hoe (2 days ago)
Does dr ali want bob?
Joseph A.W (1 day ago)
Pretty sure hes not a fan of vagene.
FeedMeSalt (2 days ago)
"Just be happy" "Just stop doing that"
my toes are throbbing (2 days ago)
lmao i hate sherlock, it's so bad at portraying mental illness
Spencer Jones (2 days ago)
BuzzFeed can you leave my feed?
racky ly (2 days ago)
my latin teacher has aspergers and rain man reminds me so much of him because he’s (my latin teacher) so picky about everything and he gets really irritated when things don’t go his way or the right way
Breslin James (2 days ago)
It seems like way more people have mental health issues these days as opposed to people 20 years ago. Has anyone done a scientific study as to why this is?
Dreaded Mermaid (2 days ago)
I thought it said real psychopath reviews mental illness in movies.
Grace Westbrook (2 days ago)
So would Moriarty also be a sociopath? He forms a bond with both Sherlock and Eurus...
M Glover (2 days ago)
*TRIGGERED*
The SecondBeat (2 days ago)
Here's what I read Real psychopath reviews mental illness in movies
What if Gaming (2 days ago)
People give Buzzfeed alot of crap but this is a educational, and well thought out video. Nothing wrong with that
Ugh Eh (2 days ago)
I see Sherlock I click
Niki Satomura (2 days ago)
"Its an m.night shamalan film" lol
Nick Parker (2 days ago)
Iron Man 3 is one of his favorites? This man just lost all credibility
Cynthia Jackson (2 days ago)
What about the psychopath in No Country for Old Men?
X MEME QUEEN X (2 days ago)
Not to be rude they’re not women they are Teenagers
Hanna Schutze (2 days ago)
Oh God, the scene with the baby underwater killed me! My heart is racing :O :(
"They are much more likely to be the victim of violence, than they are someone who might be violent themselves." This sentence is so immensely important, as mentally ill people are often showed as violent and unstable in movies and series, which furhter adds to the taboo and stigma around mental illness.
Naheeba's Life (2 days ago)
next video:Real murder reviews murders in movies
Purry Meow Meow (2 days ago)
Why didn't you do radio?
Adriana Campos (2 days ago)
Doctor: I love Iron man cause is a good example of anxiety Me: Same
-meg-the-meme - (2 days ago)
Sherlock is one of my all time favorite shows
Chris Edwards (2 days ago)
I thought it was called acting
Henrique Montalvão (2 days ago)
What would be like if two psycopaths tried to manipulate each other?
Sucheng Buragohain (2 days ago)
I'm a sociopath and I have to say being a psychopath is so much better than being a sociopath.
Sucheng Buragohain (2 days ago)
+Adriana Campos lol, I don't want to be murderer. Being Sociopath I am not good with people but I'm also very impulsive and emotional sometimes which people can take advantage of and they have. being psychopath on other hand I'd have better control of my emotions and I'd be the one taking advantage of others.
Adriana Campos (2 days ago)
I mean yeah so kill people and act like a saint, no one will ever think it was you is awesome
Burgerbitch. (2 days ago)
*I want him to be my new therapist, my current one isn’t helping that much*
K mania (3 days ago)
I don’t know why the split one made me laugh a bit
Rhianna Rajput (3 days ago)
Wooo he loves Sherlock
Regina JC (3 days ago)
They should have analyzed the performance of Cameron Monaghan as Jerome Valeska in Gotham. Am I right?
Zachary Smith (3 days ago)
Liked the video, hoping if it repeats in the future OCD will on the lineup.
Pizza Parade (3 days ago)
Before I start scrolling through these comments, I want to predict that the comment will break down like this 50% people claiming they have some kind of mental, or emotional Illness/disorder. 49% of people saying they are in this field, and they enjoyed this video of a guy watching movie clips and explaining the symptoms of those disorders. 1% of people saying something other than 1, and 2.
Adriana Campos (2 days ago)
many people are talking about the movies and recommending new ones like 20% fix this chart also you are predicting thing????? logical u obviously a psycho my friend
QEaterK (3 days ago)
WHY IS HE BLINKING SO MUCH?!?!
Sharon Crossman (3 days ago)
"Matchstick Men". Nicholas Cage, endearing guy with OCD. Terrific movie.
Enlightened Perry (3 days ago)
im diagnosed with D.I.D and schizophrenia. you're completely wrong
Hex (3 days ago)
I'd like to see the treatments you'd try with these disorders.
View Shane’s movie
hipnhappenin (3 days ago)
Surprised a psychologist hasn’t seen Split yet
Justin Williams (3 days ago)
doctor straight up calls Sherlock Holmes autistic
The Pun of Harts (3 days ago)
Can this psychologist review SHarp Object, cos I don't understand the little girls disease
Is it possible to develop PTSD from school? Like bullying and stuff?
Rachael Grigg (3 days ago)
Can you review the show The Good Doctor and it's autistic spectrum accuracy?
Mina (3 days ago)
I have a bunch of symptoms of bipolar disorder but I wouldnt dare tell my mother, she would think it's nothing and that I'm just bs-ing her
Adriana Campos (2 days ago)
like what?? bipolar disorders are no joke many familiars know about their children being ill
Philolaus Sith66 (3 days ago)
I have so few issues that the world looks insane. In fact, the only issues I have is somewhere next to impossible workloads, a society forcing me a lack of companionship, and dealing with other people's insanity and drug use. Psychiatrists do not consider root cause drug use and electronics, but I think people know that is where it lies. The problems there are too big and "necessary" to consider. My advice is to save yourself.
Lupe Walker (3 days ago)
No superhero movie did trauma/PTSD better than Batman v Superman. Bruce Wayne's unravelling psyche was portrayed to a great degree
V ANTE (3 days ago)
idky i read that as 'real sociopath reviews mental illness in movies'
Alicia Luna (3 days ago)
We watched A Beautiful Mind in Psychology class
TheHalfBloodPrincess (3 days ago)
Tony Stark was literally the first character portrayed with Anxiety that I could relate to
Daenerys Targaryen (3 days ago)
wd take this psych srsly but he talks like a valley girl
val myeon (3 days ago)
Could he evaluate Mary Jane in Spiderman trilogy? she has low self steem and grew up with verbally abusive parents. i think her acting is perfect but i wanna know what this man thinks of it :)
Madrenna Griffith (3 days ago)
Have a computer hug😊
Black swan should have been in this!
Andreas Van Der Merwe (3 days ago)
Heh yea qe do actaully
I want him to react to 'it's okay that's love' because it got me good
Myra (4 days ago)
Being bipolar, I have never seen that Silver Linings Playbook movie and that scene hit really hard. If I have gone too long without sleep, I get like that very quickly. I snap at people I care about more so than anyone else, and for no reason, even with my medication. I'll go from angry to sad and crying in just a few minutes, because the emotions are just so strong, and completely take over. Luckily I haven't had a full-on manic episode in a few years, but the last one I had was terrifying for me. It was the first time I ever felt myself "break" from reality.
Bezza Derbane (4 days ago)
Buzzfeed finally does a quality content video, well done, back to Millenials playing with cats now I spose...
Long Tran (4 days ago)
At first glance I read "Psychopath review mental illness", now I am disappointed...
Georgia Gilbert (4 days ago)
"Hi I'm Ali Mattu, Clinical Psychologist" and straight up hottie HELLLLLOOOO!
GinoongHimas TV (4 days ago)
what type of mental disorder did the protagonist in fight club had?
Duane Nichols (4 days ago)
I saw other videos depicting a beautiful mind as nonscizophranic delusional disorder
style77guy (4 days ago)
Thank you, some of the Psychologists comments explained what I went through. I had an experience that changed my view and it caused trauma. I went through a lot of panic after this. I appreciate this video so much! Thanks!
Dercsenyi Laszlo (4 days ago)
there is an example for higher level communication between personalities: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0kLjsY4JlU
Tu Madre (4 days ago)
He’s kinda hot
JakePlayz Z935 (4 days ago)
Who else noticed he blinks a lot
idfk (4 days ago)
How about fight club
Sherlock is autistic i knew it
Lake Ocean (4 days ago)
Downey and Cumberbatch played Sherlock.. oh the irony it's strange
King Vince (4 days ago)
Actually having movies about murderers with psychopathy is realistic. Dont know why a psychologist would say it isnt considering psychopaths are 1% of the population yet account for 20% of all violent crime.
Eslameddin Ghalebi (4 days ago)
No john stop going out of the shot we got an orange background for a reason!
sunshineblue1981 (4 days ago)
Dr. Mattu has another ever told you that you look like the actor Hill Harper?
Taylor Dadzie (4 days ago)
His skin is so beautiful my goodness

Would you like to comment?

Join YouTube for a free account, or sign in if you are already a member.